What is Unitarian Universalism?

Unitarian Universalism does not impose a particular statement of belief. Our religious heritage is built on freedom of belief, tolerance and reason. As a member congregation of the Unitarian Universalist Association we affirm and promote 7 principles:


  • The inherent worth and dignity of every person

  • Justice, equity and compassion in human relations

  • Acceptance of one another and encouragement to spiritual growth

  • A free and responsible search for truth and meaning

  • The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process

  • The goal of world community with peace, liberty and justice for all

  • Respect for the interdependent web of existence of which we are all part.

Unitarian Universalism draws on 6 Sources for inspiration, lessons, and meaning, including:


  • Direct experience of that transcending mystery and wonder, affirmed in all cultures, which moves us to a renewal of the spirit and an openness to the forces which create and uphold life;

  • Words and deeds of prophetic women and men which challenge us to confront powers and structures of evil with justice, compassion, and the transforming power of love;

  • Wisdom from the world's religions which inspires us in our ethical and spiritual life;

  • Jewish and Christian teachings which call us to respond to God's love by loving our neighbors as ourselves;

  • Humanist teachings which counsel us to heed the guidance of reason and the results of science, and warn us against idolatries of the mind and spirit;

  • Spiritual teachings of earth-centered traditions which celebrate the sacred circle of life and instruct us to live in harmony with the rhythms of nature

Read more about Unitarian Universalism at the UUA Website